How NextiaTax compares
NextiaTax is receipts, expenses and tax-time books for Canadian small businesses, not a full accounting suite. Here is how it lines up with the tools people usually weigh it against, including where they do more.
Checked October 19, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
The short version
Regular monthly prices for one business. Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaTax | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite and EasyStart | WaveStarter (free) and Pro | Zoho BooksCanada edition | FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 20 receipt pages read a month, 500 transactions a month, 1 T2125 export a month | ✕ No. 30-day free trial [1] | ✓ Yes (Starter): invoicing and bookkeeping; no bank import, receipt reading extra [10] | ✓ Yes, with revenue up to C$50K a year: 1 user + 1 accountant, 1,000 invoices and 1,000 expenses a year [20] | ✕ No. 30-day free trial, no card [28] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read for you | ✓ Free, 20 pages a month; Starter $7.99/month, 200 pages | ✓ EasyStart, $30/month. Lite ($20) matches receipt photos to bank transactions; reading their details isn’t listed for Lite [1][2] | ✓ Receipts add-on, $11/month; or Pro, $25/month [11] | ✓ Free plan, 50 scans a month; Standard $20/month, 200 scans [20] | ✓ Plus, $42/month (not on Lite, $26) [28] |
| Send receipts by WhatsApp | ✓ Every plan, Free included (read within the plan’s pages) | ? Not stated publicly [1] | ? Not stated publicly [11] | ? Not stated for receipts (its WhatsApp integration sends invoices and notifications) [25] | ? Not stated publicly [35] |
| Connect your own ChatGPT or Claude | ✓ Every plan, Free included: your assistant reads receipts and adds transactions (ChatGPT also attaches the receipt), using your own AI subscription | ✕ QuickBooks’ ChatGPT and Claude apps are available in the U.S. only, not in Canada [9] | ? No official connector found; third-party tools only [10] | ✓ Yes: Claude connector and Zoho MCP for ChatGPT, every plan including Free [26] | ? No official connector found; third-party tools only [28] |
| Transactions included | ✓ 500 a month on Free, 1,000 Starter, 5,000 Pro, unlimited Business | ✓ No cap stated (EasyStart: 1 user) [8] | ✓ Unlimited records, free plan included [10] | ◐ Free: 1,000 invoices and 1,000 expenses a year; Standard: 5,000 each [20] | ✓ Unlimited expenses; Lite limited to 5 billable clients [28] |
| Quebec QST | ✓ Tracked on every plan (no filing) | ◐ Yes: prepare the return in QuickBooks, file it yourself with Revenu Québec. Plans not stated [3] | ? Not stated publicly [12] | ✓ QST and combined GST/QST returns, including on Free [20][21] | ? Not stated publicly [29] |
| App in French | ✓ Yes, the whole app | ✓ Yes (not stated for Lite) [4] | ✕ No, English only (French can be typed into invoices) [13] | ✓ Yes, including Canadian French [22] | ✓ Yes, the whole app [30] |
| T2125 (self-employment) report | ✓ PDF export on every plan (1 a month on Free) | ◐ No T2125 report documented; EasyStart is described as aligned with the T2125 [4] | ✓ Map accounts to T2125 lines and export a Tax Line Report (sole proprietors) [14] | ? Not stated publicly [20] | ? Not stated publicly [31] |
| Where your books are hosted | ✓ Core database and files in Canadian Azure regions; some providers may process data elsewhere | ◐ U.S. regions, with a backup copy kept in Canada [7] | ◐ Servers in Canada and the United States [17] | ✓ Canadian data centres (Toronto, Montreal) for accounts that sign up in Canada [24] | ? Google Cloud, region not stated; the privacy policy names the U.S., Switzerland, the UK and the EEA [34] |
| Full accounting and payroll | ✕ No: expenses, receipts and tax-time books, not double-entry accounting or payroll | ✓ EasyStart and up; payroll is a paid add-on (not on Lite) [2][1] | ✓ Double-entry bookkeeping on every plan; payroll is a paid add-on, not available in Quebec [18][19] | ✓ Yes, including on Free; payroll is a separate Zoho product [20] | ◐ Double-entry reports from Plus; payroll through a partner add-on [28] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
Prices at a glance
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page.
| Feature | NextiaTax | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite and EasyStart | WaveStarter (free) and Pro | Zoho BooksCanada edition | FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $7.99/month | ✓ Lite, $20/month [1] | ✓ Pro, $25/month [10] | ✓ Standard, $20/month (3 users) [20] | ✓ Lite, $26/month [28] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read | ✓ Free, $0 (20 pages a month); Starter $7.99 (200 pages) | ✓ EasyStart, $30/month [1] | ✓ Free plan + Receipts add-on, $11/month; or Pro, $25 [11] | ✓ Free, $0 (50 scans a month, revenue up to C$50K) [20] | ✓ Plus, $42/month [28] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Pro, $14.99/month (5 users) | ✓ Plus, $110/month (up to 5 users) [1] | ? Not stated publicly (team roles need Pro) [10] | ✓ Professional, $35/month (5 users) [20] | ? Users per plan not stated; extra team members $13/month each [28] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $79/year, Pro $149/year (2 months free) | ? Yearly prices not stated publicly (about 10% off, per the FAQ) [1] | ✓ Receipts add-on $96/year; Pro $250/year [10][11] | ✓ Standard $15/month billed yearly; Professional $30 [20] | ✓ 10% off billed yearly (Plus $453.60/year) [28] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial | ✓ 90% off for 6 months, then the regular price [1] | ? None we could confirm [10][11] | ✕ None (14-day free trial) [20] | ✓ 80% off for 4 months for new customers, then the regular price [28] |
Sources
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Online Lite — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit help: file GST/HST and QST returns — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit Canada: QuickBooks Canada vs QuickBooks US — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit help: email receipts and bills — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada mobile app — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada security — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit help: usage limits (Canada) — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit help: connect QuickBooks Online to ChatGPT (U.S.) — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave receipts — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: sales tax report — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: is Wave available in my language? — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: tax line mapping — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: receipt email forwarding — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: connect a bank account — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave privacy policy — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: payroll pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: payroll subscription — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books help: Canadian taxes — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books help: organization profile (language) — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books help: documents inbox — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho security FAQ (data centres) — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books help: WhatsApp integration — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books help: Zoho Books MCP — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books: Zoho Books Canada: plan comparison — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: how sales tax works — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: account profile (language) — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks: guide to the T2125 — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: scan expense receipts — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: iOS app — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks privacy policy — checked October 19, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks Canada: expense tracker — checked October 19, 2026
Product names are trademarks of their owners. NextiaTax is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Get tax-ready this year.
Start on the Free plan and try every Pro feature free for 14 days. No card needed.
Free plan · 14-day Pro trial · No card to start · One Nextia account, secured by Microsoft Entra