NextiaTax vs Zoho Books
Zoho Books is full accounting software with a generous free plan for businesses with up to C$50,000 in revenue: 50 receipt scans a month, QST returns and a French interface. If that fits you, it is a strong choice. NextiaTax is simpler, built around receipts and tax-time books, has no revenue limit on its free plan (20 pages read a month), reads 200 pages a month for $7.99 and exports a T2125 PDF.
Checked October 19, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
NextiaTax suits you if…
- You want something simpler than full accounting: snap, review, done
- Your revenue is above C$50,000 and you want a free or low-cost plan
- You want more than 50 receipts read a month for under $10
- You want a T2125 PDF for your tax return
- You want to send receipts by WhatsApp
Zoho Books suits you better if…
- You want full accounting, including on the free plan
- You want GST/HST and QST returns prepared for you
- You need bank feeds today (Standard and up)
- You already use other Zoho apps
NextiaTax and Zoho Books, feature by feature
Regular monthly prices for one business. Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaTax | Zoho BooksCanada edition |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 20 receipt pages read a month, 500 transactions a month, 1 T2125 export a month | ✓ Yes, with revenue up to C$50K a year: 1 user + 1 accountant, 1,000 invoices and 1,000 expenses a year [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read for you | ✓ Free, 20 pages a month; Starter $7.99/month, 200 pages | ✓ Free plan, 50 scans a month; Standard $20/month, 200 scans [1] |
| Introductory discount | ✕ None. Every new business gets 14 days of Pro free, no card | ✕ None shown; plans cost less billed annually [1] |
| GST/HST tracking | ✓ Yes, every plan | ✓ Yes, GST/HST returns by CRA return line [2] |
| Quebec QST | ✓ Tracked on every plan (no filing) | ✓ QST and combined GST/QST returns, including on Free [1][2] |
| App in French | ✓ Yes, the whole app | ✓ Yes, including Canadian French [3] |
| T2125 (self-employment) report | ✓ PDF export on every plan (1 a month on Free) | ? Not stated publicly [1] |
| Forward receipts by email | ✓ Every plan, Free included | ✓ Yes, including on Free [4][1] |
| Send receipts by WhatsApp | ✓ Every plan, Free included (read within the plan’s pages) | ? Not stated for receipts (its WhatsApp integration sends invoices and notifications) [6] |
| Connect your own ChatGPT or Claude | ✓ Every plan, Free included: your assistant reads receipts and adds transactions (ChatGPT also attaches the receipt), using your own AI subscription | ✓ Yes: Claude connector and Zoho MCP for ChatGPT, every plan including Free [7] |
| Built-in AI assistant | ✓ Every plan: 10 questions a month on Free, 50 Starter, 300 Pro, 500 Business | ◐ Writing assistant on Free and Standard; Zia insights from Premium [8] |
| Transactions included | ✓ 500 a month on Free, 1,000 Starter, 5,000 Pro, unlimited Business | ◐ Free: 1,000 invoices and 1,000 expenses a year; Standard: 5,000 each [1] |
| Automatic bank feeds | ✕ Coming soon (Pro and Business). Bank-statement CSV import on every plan | ◐ Standard and up ($20/month) [1] |
| Native iOS and Android apps | ◐ Coming soon. Works in your phone’s browser today | ✓ Yes [1] |
| Where your books are hosted | ✓ Core database and files in Canadian Azure regions; some providers may process data elsewhere | ✓ Canadian data centres (Toronto, Montreal) for accounts that sign up in Canada [5] |
| Full accounting and payroll | ✕ No: expenses, receipts and tax-time books, not double-entry accounting or payroll | ✓ Yes, including on Free; payroll is a separate Zoho product [1] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
What you’d pay
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page.
| Feature | NextiaTax | Zoho BooksCanada edition |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $7.99/month | ✓ Standard, $20/month (3 users) [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read | ✓ Free, $0 (20 pages a month); Starter $7.99 (200 pages) | ✓ Free, $0 (50 scans a month, revenue up to C$50K) [1] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Pro, $14.99/month (5 users) | ✓ Professional, $35/month (5 users) [1] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $79/year, Pro $149/year (2 months free) | ✓ Standard $15/month billed yearly; Professional $30 [1] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial | ✕ None (14-day free trial) [1] |
Where Zoho Books is stronger
- Full accounting on the free plan: journals, reconciliation, balance sheet and 50+ reports.
- GST/HST, QST and combined GST/QST returns generated, even on Free.
- Bank feeds from Standard, and native iOS and Android apps.
- Part of a wider suite from the same vendor, including payroll.
- Its own Claude connector and Zoho MCP for ChatGPT, on every plan.
Switching to NextiaTax
Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. Import past transactions from a bank-statement CSV, then snap, upload or forward new receipts. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.
Sources
- Zoho Books Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books help: Canadian taxes — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books help: organization profile (language) — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books help: documents inbox — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho security FAQ (data centres) — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books help: WhatsApp integration — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books help: Zoho Books MCP — checked October 19, 2026
- Zoho Books Canada: plan comparison — checked October 19, 2026
- NextiaTax: our pricing page and plan details.
Zoho Books is a trademark of its owner. NextiaTax is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Get tax-ready this year.
Start on the Free plan and try every Pro feature free for 14 days. No card needed.
Free plan · 14-day Pro trial · No card to start · One Nextia account, secured by Microsoft Entra