NextiaTax vs Wave
Wave is free double-entry bookkeeping and invoicing, with paid extras. Both Wave and NextiaTax have free plans; the difference is what comes with them. On Wave, having receipts read costs $11 a month as an add-on or comes with Pro at $25. NextiaTax reads 20 pages a month on its free plan, and 200 for $7.99. Wave is in English only; NextiaTax is in English and French.
Checked October 19, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
NextiaTax suits you if…
- You or your team work in French
- You want receipts read on a free plan, or 200 pages for $7.99 rather than $11 to $25
- You need QST tracked for Quebec
- You want your core books hosted in Canada
- You want to send receipts by WhatsApp, or have ChatGPT or Claude keep your books
Wave suits you better if…
- You want full double-entry bookkeeping for free
- You send many invoices and take card payments
- You need automatic bank feeds today (Pro)
- You want native mobile apps today
NextiaTax and Wave, feature by feature
Regular monthly prices for one business. Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaTax | WaveStarter (free) and Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 20 receipt pages read a month, 500 transactions a month, 1 T2125 export a month | ✓ Yes (Starter): invoicing and bookkeeping; no bank import, receipt reading extra [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read for you | ✓ Free, 20 pages a month; Starter $7.99/month, 200 pages | ✓ Receipts add-on, $11/month; or Pro, $25/month [2] |
| Introductory discount | ✕ None. Every new business gets 14 days of Pro free, no card | ? None we could confirm: Wave’s pages show offers with conflicting dates [1][2] |
| GST/HST tracking | ✓ Yes, every plan | ◐ Sales taxes you set up yourself, with a sales tax report; no GST/HST return form [3] |
| Quebec QST | ✓ Tracked on every plan (no filing) | ? Not stated publicly [3] |
| App in French | ✓ Yes, the whole app | ✕ No, English only (French can be typed into invoices) [4] |
| T2125 (self-employment) report | ✓ PDF export on every plan (1 a month on Free) | ✓ Map accounts to T2125 lines and export a Tax Line Report (sole proprietors) [5] |
| Forward receipts by email | ✓ Every plan, Free included | ◐ With Pro or the Receipts add-on [6] |
| Send receipts by WhatsApp | ✓ Every plan, Free included (read within the plan’s pages) | ? Not stated publicly [2] |
| Connect your own ChatGPT or Claude | ✓ Every plan, Free included: your assistant reads receipts and adds transactions (ChatGPT also attaches the receipt), using your own AI subscription | ? No official connector found; third-party tools only [1] |
| Built-in AI assistant | ✓ Every plan: 10 questions a month on Free, 50 Starter, 300 Pro, 500 Business | ? Not stated publicly [2] |
| Transactions included | ✓ 500 a month on Free, 1,000 Starter, 5,000 Pro, unlimited Business | ✓ Unlimited records, free plan included [1] |
| Automatic bank feeds | ✕ Coming soon (Pro and Business). Bank-statement CSV import on every plan | ◐ Pro only [7] |
| Native iOS and Android apps | ◐ Coming soon. Works in your phone’s browser today | ✓ Yes [2] |
| Where your books are hosted | ✓ Core database and files in Canadian Azure regions; some providers may process data elsewhere | ◐ Servers in Canada and the United States [8] |
| Full accounting and payroll | ✕ No: expenses, receipts and tax-time books, not double-entry accounting or payroll | ✓ Double-entry bookkeeping on every plan; payroll is a paid add-on, not available in Quebec [9][10] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
What you’d pay
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page.
| Feature | NextiaTax | WaveStarter (free) and Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $7.99/month | ✓ Pro, $25/month [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read | ✓ Free, $0 (20 pages a month); Starter $7.99 (200 pages) | ✓ Free plan + Receipts add-on, $11/month; or Pro, $25 [2] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Pro, $14.99/month (5 users) | ? Not stated publicly (team roles need Pro) [1] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $79/year, Pro $149/year (2 months free) | ✓ Receipts add-on $96/year; Pro $250/year [1][2] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial | ? None we could confirm [1][2] |
Where Wave is stronger
- Double-entry bookkeeping, balance sheet and reconciliation on the free plan.
- Invoicing and online card payments built in.
- No limit on the number of records, even on the free plan.
- Maps accounts to T2125 lines and exports a Tax Line Report for sole proprietors.
- Automatic bank feeds on Pro, and native iOS and Android apps.
Switching to NextiaTax
Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. Import past transactions from a bank-statement CSV, then snap, upload or forward new receipts. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.
Sources
- Wave pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave receipts — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: sales tax report — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: is Wave available in my language? — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: tax line mapping — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: receipt email forwarding — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: connect a bank account — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave privacy policy — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: payroll pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- Wave help: payroll subscription — checked October 19, 2026
- NextiaTax: our pricing page and plan details.
Wave is a trademark of its owner. NextiaTax is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Get tax-ready this year.
Start on the Free plan and try every Pro feature free for 14 days. No card needed.
Free plan · 14-day Pro trial · No card to start · One Nextia account, secured by Microsoft Entra