NextiaTax
Compare

NextiaTax vs FreshBooks

FreshBooks is invoicing-first accounting for service businesses. It has no free plan, and reading receipts starts with Plus at $42 a month regular price. NextiaTax is focused on receipts, expenses and tax-time books, with a free plan that reads 20 receipt pages a month and 200 pages for $7.99.

Checked October 19, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.

NextiaTax suits you if…

  • You mainly need receipts and expenses ready for tax time
  • You want a free plan with no time limit
  • You want receipts read without paying $42 a month
  • You want your core books hosted in Canada
  • You want to send receipts by WhatsApp, or have ChatGPT or Claude keep your books

FreshBooks suits you better if…

  • Invoicing, time tracking and client billing are the heart of your work
  • You want bank import today, on every plan
  • You need double-entry reports (Plus and up)
  • You want native mobile apps today
Side by side

NextiaTax and FreshBooks, feature by feature

Regular monthly prices for one business. Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.

Feature NextiaTax FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus
Free plan ✓ Yes, no time limit: 20 receipt pages read a month, 500 transactions a month, 1 T2125 export a month ✕ No. 30-day free trial, no card [1]
Cheapest way to have receipts read for you ✓ Free, 20 pages a month; Starter $7.99/month, 200 pages ✓ Plus, $42/month (not on Lite, $26) [1]
Introductory discount ✕ None. Every new business gets 14 days of Pro free, no card ✓ 80% off for 4 months (e.g. Plus $8.40/month, then $42) [1]
GST/HST tracking ✓ Yes, every plan ◐ Sales taxes you set up yourself, with a sales tax summary; no GST/HST return feature described [2]
Quebec QST ✓ Tracked on every plan (no filing) ? Not stated publicly [2]
App in French ✓ Yes, the whole app ✓ Yes, the whole app [3]
T2125 (self-employment) report ✓ PDF export on every plan (1 a month on Free) ? Not stated publicly [4]
Forward receipts by email ✓ Every plan, Free included ◐ Plus and up [5]
Send receipts by WhatsApp ✓ Every plan, Free included (read within the plan’s pages) ? Not stated publicly [8]
Connect your own ChatGPT or Claude ✓ Every plan, Free included: your assistant reads receipts and adds transactions (ChatGPT also attaches the receipt), using your own AI subscription ? No official connector found; third-party tools only [1]
Built-in AI assistant ✓ Every plan: 10 questions a month on Free, 50 Starter, 300 Pro, 500 Business ? Not stated publicly [8]
Transactions included ✓ 500 a month on Free, 1,000 Starter, 5,000 Pro, unlimited Business ✓ Unlimited expenses; Lite limited to 5 billable clients [1]
Automatic bank feeds ✕ Coming soon (Pro and Business). Bank-statement CSV import on every plan ✓ Every plan [1]
Native iOS and Android apps ◐ Coming soon. Works in your phone’s browser today ✓ Yes [6]
Where your books are hosted ✓ Core database and files in Canadian Azure regions; some providers may process data elsewhere ? Google Cloud, region not stated; the privacy policy names the U.S., Switzerland, the UK and the EEA [7]
Full accounting and payroll ✕ No: expenses, receipts and tax-time books, not double-entry accounting or payroll ◐ Double-entry reports from Plus; payroll through a partner add-on [1]

✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor

Pricing

What you’d pay

Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page.

Feature NextiaTax FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus
Cheapest paid plan ✓ Starter, $7.99/month ✓ Lite, $26/month [1]
Cheapest way to have receipts read ✓ Free, $0 (20 pages a month); Starter $7.99 (200 pages) ✓ Plus, $42/month [1]
For a team of 5 ✓ Pro, $14.99/month (5 users) ? Users per plan not stated; extra team members $13/month each [1]
Billed yearly ✓ Starter $79/year, Pro $149/year (2 months free) ✓ 10% off billed yearly (Plus $453.60/year) [1]
Current promotion ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial ✓ 80% off for 4 months for new customers, then the regular price [1]

FreshBooks currently advertises 80% off for 4 months. The table shows the regular price each plan returns to; the offer’s terms are on FreshBooks’ site.

Where FreshBooks is stronger

  • Invoicing, estimates and online payments are its core.
  • Automated bank import on every plan; reconciliation from Plus.
  • Native iOS and Android apps.
  • Payroll through a partner add-on.
  • Unlimited expenses on every plan.

Switching to NextiaTax

Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. Import past transactions from a bank-statement CSV, then snap, upload or forward new receipts. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.

Sources

  1. FreshBooks Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
  2. FreshBooks help: how sales tax works — checked October 19, 2026
  3. FreshBooks help: account profile (language) — checked October 19, 2026
  4. FreshBooks: guide to the T2125 — checked October 19, 2026
  5. FreshBooks help: scan expense receipts — checked October 19, 2026
  6. FreshBooks help: iOS app — checked October 19, 2026
  7. FreshBooks privacy policy — checked October 19, 2026
  8. FreshBooks Canada: expense tracker — checked October 19, 2026
  9. NextiaTax: our pricing page and plan details.

FreshBooks is a trademark of its owner. NextiaTax is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.

Get tax-ready this year.

Start on the Free plan and try every Pro feature free for 14 days. No card needed.

Free plan · 14-day Pro trial · No card to start · One Nextia account, secured by Microsoft Entra