NextiaTax vs QuickBooks Online
QuickBooks Online is full accounting software. Its plans for sole proprietors, Lite and EasyStart, are $20 and $30 a month at regular price. NextiaTax does less: it keeps receipts, expenses and sales taxes ready for tax time. In return it has a free plan that reads 20 receipt pages a month, reads 200 for $7.99 a month and keeps its core data in Canada. QuickBooks Self-Employed is no longer on Intuit’s Canadian pricing page.
Checked October 19, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
NextiaTax suits you if…
- You mainly need receipts, expenses and GST/HST/QST tracked for tax time
- You want a free plan that reads receipts, or 200 pages read for $7.99 a month
- You want your core books hosted in Canada
- You want a T2125 PDF to hand to your accountant
- You want to send receipts by WhatsApp, or use ChatGPT or Claude with your books in Canada
QuickBooks Online suits you better if…
- You need full double-entry accounting, financial statements or payroll
- You want automatic bank feeds today
- You want native mobile apps today
- Your accountant already works in QuickBooks
NextiaTax and QuickBooks Online, feature by feature
Regular monthly prices for one business. Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaTax | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite and EasyStart |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 20 receipt pages read a month, 500 transactions a month, 1 T2125 export a month | ✕ No. 30-day free trial [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read for you | ✓ Free, 20 pages a month; Starter $7.99/month, 200 pages | ✓ EasyStart, $30/month. Lite ($20) matches receipt photos to bank transactions; reading their details isn’t listed for Lite [1][2] |
| Introductory discount | ✕ None. Every new business gets 14 days of Pro free, no card | ✓ 90% off for 6 months (e.g. EasyStart $3/month, then $30) [1] |
| GST/HST tracking | ✓ Yes, every plan | ✓ Yes, every plan [1] |
| Quebec QST | ✓ Tracked on every plan (no filing) | ◐ Yes: prepare the return in QuickBooks, file it yourself with Revenu Québec. Plans not stated [3] |
| App in French | ✓ Yes, the whole app | ✓ Yes (not stated for Lite) [4] |
| T2125 (self-employment) report | ✓ PDF export on every plan (1 a month on Free) | ◐ No T2125 report documented; EasyStart is described as aligned with the T2125 [4] |
| Forward receipts by email | ✓ Every plan, Free included | ✓ Yes (plans not stated) [5] |
| Send receipts by WhatsApp | ✓ Every plan, Free included (read within the plan’s pages) | ? Not stated publicly [1] |
| Connect your own ChatGPT or Claude | ✓ Every plan, Free included: your assistant reads receipts and adds transactions (ChatGPT also attaches the receipt), using your own AI subscription | ✕ QuickBooks’ ChatGPT and Claude apps are available in the U.S. only, not in Canada [9] |
| Built-in AI assistant | ✓ Every plan: 10 questions a month on Free, 50 Starter, 300 Pro, 500 Business | ◐ Intuit Intelligence (beta) on EasyStart and up, limited questions on EasyStart; not on Lite [1] |
| Transactions included | ✓ 500 a month on Free, 1,000 Starter, 5,000 Pro, unlimited Business | ✓ No cap stated (EasyStart: 1 user) [8] |
| Automatic bank feeds | ✕ Coming soon (Pro and Business). Bank-statement CSV import on every plan | ✓ Every plan (Lite: 2 bank connections) [1] |
| Native iOS and Android apps | ◐ Coming soon. Works in your phone’s browser today | ✓ Yes [6] |
| Where your books are hosted | ✓ Core database and files in Canadian Azure regions; some providers may process data elsewhere | ◐ U.S. regions, with a backup copy kept in Canada [7] |
| Full accounting and payroll | ✕ No: expenses, receipts and tax-time books, not double-entry accounting or payroll | ✓ EasyStart and up; payroll is a paid add-on (not on Lite) [2][1] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
What you’d pay
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s Canadian pricing page.
| Feature | NextiaTax | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite and EasyStart |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $7.99/month | ✓ Lite, $20/month [1] |
| Cheapest way to have receipts read | ✓ Free, $0 (20 pages a month); Starter $7.99 (200 pages) | ✓ EasyStart, $30/month [1] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Pro, $14.99/month (5 users) | ✓ Plus, $110/month (up to 5 users) [1] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $79/year, Pro $149/year (2 months free) | ? Yearly prices not stated publicly (about 10% off, per the FAQ) [1] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial | ✓ 90% off for 6 months, then the regular price [1] |
QuickBooks currently advertises 90% off for 6 months. The tables show the regular price each plan returns to; the offer’s terms are on Intuit’s site. Its Canadian pricing page shows prices in dollars without a currency label.
Where QuickBooks Online is stronger
- Full accounting on EasyStart and up: balance sheet, 30+ reports and a chart of accounts you can change.
- Bank feeds on every plan, and native iOS and Android apps.
- Prepares GST/HST and QST returns for you to file.
- Payroll as an add-on, and many accountants already know it.
Switching to NextiaTax
Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. Import past transactions from a bank-statement CSV, then snap, upload or forward new receipts. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.
Sources
- QuickBooks Canada pricing — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Online Lite — checked October 19, 2026
- Intuit help: file GST/HST and QST returns — checked October 19, 2026
- Intuit Canada: QuickBooks Canada vs QuickBooks US — checked October 19, 2026
- Intuit help: email receipts and bills — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada mobile app — checked October 19, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada security — checked October 19, 2026
- Intuit help: usage limits (Canada) — checked October 19, 2026
- Intuit help: connect QuickBooks Online to ChatGPT (U.S.) — checked October 19, 2026
- NextiaTax: our pricing page and plan details.
QuickBooks Online is a trademark of its owner. NextiaTax is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Get tax-ready this year.
Start on the Free plan and try every Pro feature free for 14 days. No card needed.
Free plan · 14-day Pro trial · No card to start · One Nextia account, secured by Microsoft Entra